The Farewell

July 22, 2011 at 6:12 pm Leave a comment

A bittersweet day for me.

Him: I wanna go ahead and get you set up on this computer. I got the go ahead. I think they’re trying to do everything possible to avoid giving you a raise, so I didn’t have to do much convincing.
Me: I really appreciate it.
Him: You bet. It allows me to spend the bulk of my final day working with you, so…I’ll even transfer all your stuff over.
Me: Sweet.
Him: How do you think IT Fella is doing?
Me: He’s doing fine. He definitely knows his stuff, he’s just kind of…funny. Not funny ha-ha, but funny weird. I don’t see much developing in that area.
Him: Yeah, just don’t take any sh*t from him. Seriously. Hey. I had an idea. If I may reveal my occasional narcissism.
Me: It’s what I live for.
Him: Ha. So. I’m sure I’ll have some near unbelievable adventures and stories from California…
Me: Yeah.
Him: Are you picking up what I’m laying down?
Me: Am I? ……..I am. I am.
Him: CyberDefender is a bigger pond, but I’m really talking about the OCEAN that IS L.A.  You know? All the kids with the pumped up kicks.
Me: And lips…
Him: Exactly.
Me: When are you guys taking off?
Him: We’re starting our two car caravan right after I leave here. Gonna swing by The Lou, crash with the fams, have some breakfast then drive until we can’t drive anymore tomorrow. I’m honestly hoping to make it to Amarillo. A little feast at The Big Texan restaurant. I’m gonna try to eat that 72 oz. steak …maybe we’ll push a bit further. Maybe not. Then that’ll give us time to really take our time through New Mexico and Arizona…swing by the Grand Canyon again if we get the hankering. Would like to pull in on Tuesday. The truck is scheduled to be there on Wednesday.

—-4:00 p.m.—-

Him: I’m gonna cut out, Lando. I love you, brother.
Me: Me too, man. I hope to work with you again in the future.
Him: You’re not gonna cry are you?
Me: Not right now…but do you mind if I start the slow clap?

He nodded. Turned. I started the slow clap. Everyone came and joined in.

Him: I love you all!

Entry filed under: Crazy IT People, Helpful Computer Advice, Things my IT guy said. Tags: , , .

5 Days. Border Hopping

Leave a comment

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed